The tube

© Gemma Champ

I don’t know if there’s anything more intriguing to draw than a human face in repose, and there’s definitely no better place to find those faces than on the Tube. I’ve had a couple of good sketching sessions on my way into and from central London, using a retractable pencil on my Moleskine. I remember my art teacher at school telling me off for using a retractable pencil, but I find it has just the delicacy I need for drawing quickly but lightly on a noisy, moving, grumbling train.

Leave a Reply

