In glorious watercolour

Anne-Valérie Hash, spring/summer 2012

Here are two of my favourite looks from spring/summer 2012: a gorgeous cobalt jacket and white trousers by Anne-Valérie Hash, and a delightful, summery frock, all pleats and print, from Sonia Rykiel.

Anne-Valérie Hash, spring/summer 2012

I had a spare couple of hours yesterday, so I thought I’d use that radiant sunlight to help me transition from pencil to colour. I’m not entirely delighted with the results as I think the immediacy of the line has gone by the wayside (which is why I always end up going back to drawing), but I’m going to persevere and see if I can reconcile the vibrancy of the colours, which I’m very pleased with, with the draughtsmanship that I think is so important. When I’m feeling a bit more flush I will invest in some new brushes, inks and other toys.

Sonia Rykiel, spring/summer 2012

Sadly, illustrating these gorgeous fripperies is about as near as I’ll get to wearing them at the moment!

 

 

Leave a Reply

