Going Gaga

Thanks to the wonderful world of Twitter, I discovered yesterday that there was a drawing competition to illustrate Lady Gaga for her new column in the fabulous V magazine. Only problem? The deadline was midnight that night, and I had to work all day. So come 6.30, I grabbed the few bits of art equipment that I still own (staying at my parents’, you see), and whipped this up, with a little help from Photoshop.

It’s not what I would have liked (chunky hand, rubbish pen, in the draft she looked haughty rather than demure) and ideally I’d have done it as a lino cut, or perhaps used some chalk pastels for a bit of a Gruau effect. I’m not that adept at Photoshop yet, so it does have something of the look of a Second Life avatar. But considering I only had a few hours, I don’t mind it. Fingers crossed V like it too.

Leave a Reply

